What You Don’t Know About Instant Gratification and the Hidden Costs, Long-Term Consequences, and Ripple Effect of Shortcuts

Bookmark and digest slowly.

Kristi Andrus Coach
22 min readMar 16, 2024

One thing people often say they love about getting older is not caring about what other people think, aka hitting the IDGAF milestone.

Sure, it’s liberating, but what’s even better is seeing the choices you made earlier finally pay off. But what kind of choices tend to pay off (and more importantly, what if you weren’t great at making good decisions back then)?

Part One

Good Decisions

When my kids are thrown into new situations or trying something that requires them to level up, my default advice is, “Make good decisions!”

I’m the mom calling that phrase out while dropping them off at Ninja Nation, Sky Zone, Urban Air, swimming pools, theme parks, and any other hazardous play area that requires a waiver. I also use it for play dates and field trips — it’s a catch-all for everything.

Coaches Note: I also say, “It’s time to level up” when I need them to get better at one skill that will unlock the next skill that facilitates family or academic life. It’s shorthand for let’s get unstuck and get ready for the next stage.

--

--

Kristi Andrus Coach

When I drop my kids off at school, I always kiss them and shout, BE AMAZING! Try it: Love your life, make the most of it, be amazing. www.kristiandrus.com